9/28/16 Truce

Hello! I’m back with another playlist that I’m super excited to share. I think I’m more excited to share how I created it than the actual music but we’ll get to that in a second. The past few weeks have been filled with little to no sleep, a ton of live music, and quite a bit of alone time. I went to Hopscotch in Raleigh, which you can read about here, and the next weekend drove to Atlanta with my best friend for Music Midtown, which you can also read about here! I’m still completely floored by my adoration for music and the performers who do it justice.

The past few weeks have also been really tough on my mental health. I’m already a naturally dramatic person, so when you throw that into a pot with anxiety and an inability to cope, you get a super-storm of chaos. I’ve always turned to music, specifically lyrics, to help me identify what it is that I’m feeling, and that music tends to be “massively depressing” in the eyes of my peers (or so I’ve heard).

In the words of Julien Baker: “Sad songs make me feel better.”

Anyway!

I reached out on Twitter this morning and asked, “What songs do you listen to when your mental health is paper thin?”

It’s important to note that my intention with this tweet was for maybe one person to suggest a song, perhaps two, for me to include in this playlist. Instead, two lovely sweethearts sent me an entire playlist. Each. They sent me playlists full of songs that help them cope and thought they might do the same for me. Shirley and Taylor, if you’re reading this, I adore you.

I spent the entire day listening to these songs and feel so overwhelmed (in a good way) that two people would go out of their way to share such much meaningful music with me. It was especially interesting to see how we all cope using different genres. What I considered a cool song with a catchy hook is something Taylor considers a coping mechanism. This is one of my favorite parts of music; the fact that everyone has the ability to associate their own feelings and thoughts with a song and have it mean something completely different than what it means to me.

The result of my mushy heart can be found below, in the playlist that is 99% owned by Shirley and Taylor. I added three or four songs of my own, but the rest originated in the playlists those two shared with me.

I named the playlist “Truce” for a very specific reason. I like the idea of a truce; I like the idea of not having a clear winner or loser. I like the idea of being okay with not being okay, and admitting that maybe things aren’t as easy as you thought they’d be. I like the idea of being able to cease fire without completely giving up.

You guys, I know I put twenty one pilots on every playlist ever, but trust me in that “Truce” is a worth your time. It’s a simple, short song. Piano and vocals. That’s it. The melody of the song runs through my head on a daily basis, but more importantly, the lyrics.

You will die, but now your life is free / take pride in what is sure to die

Do me a favor. Listen to the song. The soft piano and transparent lyrics hit me hard every time I hear them, and the song has gotten me through a lot of long nights; more than I’d care to admit. When you’re done, press shuffle and let this playlist do what it did for me.

Reply

