Reeve Coobs’ album-release party preview: are you a ‘beReever?’

Reeve Coobs’ album-release party preview: are you a ‘beReever?’

13342944_10153739466148207_2947764746836481232_n

It’s possible that you just haven’t heard of Reeve Coobs (or her dog Mr. Gus Gus). When it comes to local indie artists with their nose to the grindstone, she is a great example. With a quiet determination, Coobs is an artist who provides a ballad-like acoustic introspection the likes of some other full-figure divas in the headlines today. Her CD release party is on August 6, hosted by Neighborhood Theatre. Read below for an interview with Coobs, and a review of the album. (Click here for a video preview of the album, too!)

13876171_10153758304431404_220968615703289580_n
A recent Creative Loafing issue mentioned the album-release show as a must-see!

Album review of Me + You:

In under 20 minutes, you can live through Coobs’ swoon-worthy vocals a life of love, possession, repulsion, and everything in between. Here’s my verdict:

Me + You is lyrically captivating, but the titles of each song are too simple for such content. Don’t let these titles fool you (“Love/Hate,” “Circles,” “Fool”) because not only do the lyrics prove substantially deep and sometimes anecdotal, but the vocal execution is entirely pro. The musical composition and instrumental style adds a kind of crooning to each piece. In a word, this entire album is tenacious; it’s technically tight, while maintaining the much-needed emotive addition that any great singer-songwriter requires.

Listen to it– better yet, hear it performed live at the following upcoming dates:

2016-08-05

About You:

Where are you located?  Cornelius, NC but based out of Charlotte

Where do you often play live? I play quite often at Summit Coffee in Davidson, NC

What’s your most recent (or upcoming) release? “Me + You” is being released on 8.6.2016

Who’s the dog (on your album cover)? That’s my sweet pup, Mr. Gus Gus.

What artist, genre, or album would you have to be forced to listen to? I’d have to say super sugary-sweet love songs can drive me crazy.

What do you listen to most often? I’m listening to 3 albums right now… Emotions and Math by Margaret Glaspy, Earthbound Blues by John Moreland, and Secret Handshake by Anthony Da Costa.

About Fans:

Do your fans provide a fire under your ass to record new work? Ha! I wish they did more of that. But I do get asked if certain songs are available and if they aren’t it keeps me plugging away at my catalog.

What project has been most successful so far? Since this is only my second album and it’s just releasing this week I guess my first album has been most successful. Everyone seemed to like it and I was proud of it so I think that’s a success.

Do you have a sweet name for your fans? No, but you’ve got me thinking about that now… any suggestions?

***Molly Shores: Reeve Coobs’ fans are now referred to as beReevers. You’re welcome.

Have any of them met your dog? Yes! He comes to a lot of my outside shows and he actually has special permission to come to my cd release party on 8/6.

 

“After All”

Weird questions:

What’s something awkward about vocal training/warm-ups? When I trill my lips to warm them up is always tickles my cheeks and I have to stop…always!

What is your go-to warm-up exercise?  Recently it’s been singing along in the car to Abigail Washburn & The Sparrow Quartet – her range is out of the world and trying to singalong is a great on-the-go warmup.

How do you deal with a song that you dislike after creating it? Sometimes I work hard on rewriting them, sometimes I just leave them be and move on. Each song has a purpose and sometimes the purpose is just purely therapeutic.

What do you think is/would be the hardest instrument to play while singing? For me, it’s the piano. I’m not great at piano anyway but trying to play and sing at the same time is just terrifying.

 

“Night Owl”

Give me five tips to singing as well as you do, and I’ll see if they work.

1. Listen to good vocalists and dissect what they are doing with their voices AND what they aren’t doing.

2. Surround yourself with people who are better than you at their instrument whether it’s a voice or not – watch how and when they choose to make a sound. A huge part of music is space and talented people know when to not do anything.

3. Learn to make criticism your best friend… you will only get better if you know where you need work.

4. Record yourself (a phone works great for this) singing and listen back. Dissect yourself – look for parts where you like what you hear and work on parts you don’t like.

5. Find the right key for your voice on a particular song. If your voice has a sweet spot – put the song in that key. Do yourself a favor and spend time finding the right key for each song you sing.

6 thoughts on “Reeve Coobs’ album-release party preview: are you a ‘beReever?’

  1. hi!,I like your writing so so much! percentage we keep up
    a correspondence extra approximately your post on AOL?
    I require an expert in this house to unravel my problem. Maybe
    that is you! Taking a look ahead to see you.

  2. It is appropriate time to make a few plans for the future and it is time to be happy.
    I have read this put up and if I may just I desire to recommend you few fascinating issues or tips.
    Perhaps you can write next articles regarding this article.

    I wish to read even more things about it!

Reply

