Acts of God or just another day for Slipknot, Marilyn Manson, and Of Mice and Men?

Acts of God or just another day for Slipknot, Marilyn Manson, and Of Mice & Men?

Photos by Richard Thigpen Photography

Skipknot-2320

With a tour that was set to begin June 9 but postponed to June 28 due to Slipknot vocalist Corey Taylor suffering a neck injury, or as he put it, “I f@cking broke my neck,” setbacks have become somewhat commonplace. The opening dates postponed will look to be rescheduled on the back end of the tour but that was just the beginning.

Skipknot-3681

Even just a few days prior to the Charlotte date, a show at First Niagara Pavilion near Pittsburgh was cancelled midway through Marilyn Manson’s set due to a violent storm moving through, and similar rage was seen from some in attendance.

Marilyn Manson-2299

As the tour rolled into Charlotte, stormy weather was in the forecast and once again lightning strikes in the area force a shortened set from Of Mice and Men and a delayed start time from Marilyn Manson. Nevertheless the show, at least in this case, was able to go on.

Metalheads from across the Carolinas turned out for a stacked bill of heavy music and the bands proved that no matter what the weather may be doing, they were here and they were ready to melt faces.

Marilyn Manson-3647

Taking the stage a little later than planned but proving that he and his band are still a rock powerhouse, Marilyn Manson found his way from stilts on stage to out into the crowd, and with massive backdrops and his iconic pulpit, played a solid set with little out of the ordinary. This has not been the case for all of the stops so far.

Marilyn Manson-2266

One show found Manson mumbling and stumbling to the soundboard and knocking off a monitor. Another show left the crowd a little dumbfounded with an incoherent rant about a drug trafficker in his head and Manson vocally cursing his crew to move cords stating “I don’t want to fall on my dick with that cord, so can you fix it, please?”

Marilyn Manson-3584

Manson was even seen flinging snot into the crowd which was likely related to an illness which forced him to cancel an appearance a few weeks ago, just hours before his set.

Marilyn Manson-2250

The Charlotte performance went off without a hitch and a great performance, with the only crazy antic being Manson breaking a microphone stand over his knee as reported by a fellow music reporter.

Skipknot-2396//embedr.flickr.com/assets/client-code.js

Slipknot are the headliners for this tour and after years of arena rock shows they have proved why. The growth of the band, from their breakout Ozzfest 99 performances to the evolution of their sound, band, and masks, has been a rise to the top of the metal mountain that has not been without drama and tragedy, but in the end has shaped them into a band at the top of their game and the metal world.

Skipknot-2389

The drama for this tour has been kept to a minimum with Taylor’s neck injury being the only real issue; in fact, Taylor was still in a neck brace for the Charlotte appearance.

Skipknot-2466

The band, like many performers finding their way to NC have chosen to make a statement on the state’s discriminatory House bill 2.

Skipknot-3660

The band expressed their disdain of the bill but also expressed how important they felt it was to continue with their performance in Charlotte and to make a stand against the bill by partnering with Equality NC for the stop.

Skipknot-3686

“Our fans in North Carolina deserve better, so we decided not to cancel. We don’t care where you pee- just please flush. It’s pretty simple, really.”

Skipknot-3711

Luckily, the band chose to keep Charlotte on the tour and with a massive stage setup that matches their massive sound Slipknot showed up big. With room to roam, their trademark hydraulic risers and giant screen the visuals of their performance kept up with a massive sound that has been built for this stage.

Skipknot-2483

View the full gallery

Catch this tour:

Marilyn tour dates| Slipknot tour dates | Of Mice & Men tour dates

64 thoughts on “Acts of God or just another day for Slipknot, Marilyn Manson, and Of Mice and Men?

  1. Amazing things here. I’m very glad to peer your article. Thank you a lot and
    I’m taking a look ahead to contact you. Will you please drop me a e-mail?

  2. Oh my goodness! Impressive article dude!
    Thank you, However I am encountering problems with your RSS.
    I don’t understand why I can’t subscribe to it. Is there anybody
    else having similar RSS problems? Anyone
    who knows the answer will you kindly respond? Thanks!!

  3. I do not even know how I ended up here, but I thought this post was great.
    I don’t know who you are but definitely you are going to a famous blogger if you aren’t
    already 😉 Cheers!

  4. Good day! I could have sworn I’ve been to this site before but after browsing
    through many of the articles I realized it’s new to me.
    Nonetheless, I’m certainly pleased I stumbled upon it and I’ll be
    book-marking it and checking back frequently!

  5. Thanks for the marvelous posting! I quite enjoyed reading it, you’re a great author.
    I will be sure to bookmark your blog and will eventually come back in the foreseeable future.

    I want to encourage one to continue your great job, have a nice morning!

  6. Please leet me know if you’re looking for a article writer forr your site.

    You have some really great posts and I believe I would be a good asset.
    If you ever want to take some of the load off, I’d love to write some articles for your blog
    in exchange for a link back to mine. Please blast me an email if interested.

    Thank you!

  7. Nice post. I used to be checking continuously
    this weblog and I am impressed! Extremely helpfuul info
    specially the remaining phase 🙂 I maintain such information much.
    I was seeking this certain inforrmation for a very lengthy time.
    Tank you and best of luck.

  8. This is very attention-grabbing, You are an overly skilled blogger.
    I’ve joined your feed and stay up for in search of extra of your
    wonderful post. Also, I have shared your website in my social networks

  9. Someone essentially assist to make critically articles I’d state.
    This is the very first time I frequented your web page and
    up too now? I surprised with the research you made to ake thiss particulr post amazing.
    Fantastic task!

  10. First of all I would like to say fantastic blog!
    I had a quick question which I’d like to ask if you don’t mind.
    I was curious to know how you center yourself and clear your mind
    before writing. I have had difficulty clearing my thoughts in getting my thoughts out.
    I do enjoy writing however it just seems like the first 10 to 15 minutes tend to be wasted simply just trying to figure out how to begin. Any suggestions or tips?
    Thank you!

  11. Oh my goodness! Awesome article dude! Thanks, However I am
    going through issues with your RSS. I don’t know the reason why I am unable to subscribe to it.

    Is there anyone else getting the same RSS issues? Anybody
    who knows the solution can you kindly respond? Thanx!!

  12. Hmm it appears like your blog ate my first comment (it was extremely
    long) so I guess I’ll just sum it up what I had written and say, I’m thoroughly enjoying your blog.
    I as well am an aspiring blog blogger but I’m still new to everything.
    Do you have any tips and hints for first-time blog writers?
    I’d definitely appreciate it.

  13. Awesome website you have here but I was curious if you knew
    off any user discussion forums that cover the same topics
    dicussed in this article? I’d really like to be a part of community where
    I can get opinions from other knowledgeable individuals that share the same interest.
    If you have aany suggestions, please let me know.
    Thank you!

  14. Hi! This is my firsst visit too your blog! We are a group of volunteers and starting a
    new initiative iin a commjnity in tthe sazme niche.
    Your blog provided uss valuable information to work
    on. You have done a outstanding job!

  15. Hello! This iss myy first visit to your blog!
    We are a collection of volunteers and starting a new initiative in a community in tthe same niche.
    Your bloig provided us valuable information to work on. You have done a wonderful job!

  16. Hi there I am so grateful I found your blog page, I really found you by mistake, while I was browsing on Yahoo for something else, Nonetheless I am here now and would just like to say cheers for
    a fantastic post and a all round exciting blog (I also love the theme/design), I don?t have time to browse
    it all at the moment but I have bookmarked it and also added in your RSS
    feeds, so when I have time I will be back to read a great deal more,
    Please do keep up the excellent work.

  17. I’m extremely impressed with your writing skills as well as with the
    layout on your weblog. Is this a paid theme or did you customize it yourself?
    Anyway keep up the excellent quality writing, it is rare to see a nice blog like
    this one these days.

  18. Howdy! I know this is kinda off topic but I was wondering if you knew
    where I could locate a captcha plugin for my
    comment form? I’m using the same blog platform as yours
    and I’m having difficulty finding one? Thanks a lot!

  19. Admiring the time and energy you put into your blog and in depth information you offer.
    It’s good to come across a blog every once in a while that isn’t the same old
    rehashed material. Wonderful read! I’ve bookmarked your site and I’m
    including your RSS feeds to my Google account.

  20. Good post. I learn something new and challenging on websites I
    stumbleupon everyday. It’s always helpful to read through
    content from other authors and use a little something
    from other web sites.

  21. Very great post. I jist stumbled upon your weblog and wanted
    to say that I have really loved surfing around your weblog posts.
    After all I will be subsxribing on your rsss feed and
    I am hoping you write once more soon!

  22. Generally I don’t read post on blogs, but I would like to say that
    this write-up very pressured me to check out and do
    it! Your writing taste has been surprised me. Thanks, very nice post.

  23. Hey there! I realize this is somewhat off-topic however I had to ask.

    Does managing a well-established website like yours require a massive amount
    work? I am brand new to blogging however I do write in my diary on a daily basis.
    I’d like to start a blog so I can share my experience and feelings online.

    Please let me know if you have any suggestions or
    tips for brand new aspiring blog owners. Thankyou!

  24. Hola! I’ve been following your website for a while now and finally gott the bravery to go ahead and give you
    a shout out from Atascocita Tx! Just wanted to say keep up the
    excellent job!

  25. Thanks for ones marvelous posting! I really enjoyed reading it, you can be a great author.I will
    be sure to bookmark your blog and may come back later in life.
    I want to encourage you to ultimately continue your great job, have a nice holiday weekend!

  26. Hi there! This is my first visit to your blog!
    We are a team of volunteers and starting a new project in a community in the same niche.
    Your blog provided us valuable information to work on. You
    have done a outstanding job!

Reply

