Remembering Christina Grimmie

Remembering Christina Grimmie

At 11:30pm June 10th, I got on Twitter as I usually do before going to bed; that’s when I happened to see absolutely terrible news come through my feed. The tweet had said something along the lines of #prayforchristina she is in critical condition. After doing research I learned that Christina Grimmie singer, former Youtuber and long time idol of mine, was shot after her concert, while she met with fans in an Orlando concert venue. Later into the night I saw the news that sadly she had passed away after fighting for her life. I, like so many others, am completely heartbroken by the loss of Christina Grimmie.

Throughout the day yesterday, I couldn’t help but wonder, “is this real? How could this happen? Why her, she was so young? I just don’t understand why.”

The first time I watched Christina on her YouTube channel, it was a video called “Above All That Is Random.” It consisted of her coming up with random phrases and putting them together with her friend Sarah Happlesful. They would record themselves singing those random phrases with autotune. The friends would upload one video like that every year. Not only did Christina Grimmie post those videos, she also made beautiful covers of popular songs. She was just a talented kid having fun, making and sharing videos. Christina has been a big inspiration to me with regards to singing. I would always watch her videos and try to be like her. Not only that, but her friendship with Sarah was something I always wanted to have as well. They had a lot of fun together and seemed to just enjoy being themselves. Christina was able to be herself and she didn’t care what other people thought.

Breaking into her music career through youtube, at just 16 Grimmie was discovered by LH7  Management. Grimmie has put out two albums, was top 3 on The Voice and toured with Selena Gomez. After the amazing run she had on The Voice, Grimmie was picked up and signed to a record label. She had so much power in her voice and she deeply cared about her fans.

It not only makes me upset that she was taken away at such a young age, but this was the beginning of her career; this was the start of something big for her. The start of her achieving her dreams.

Christina was a huge fan of Twenty One Pilots; she posted a cover of their song “Doubt.” She said in the beginning of the video, “Are you ready to cry?” then started singing the lyrics, “Don’t forget about me.”
Twitter accounts tweeted that 20 second cover with #dedicatedoubtochristina to Twenty One Pilots and in turn, Twenty One Pilots dedicated Doubt for her at their concert last night.

Yesterday was a rough day. I couldn’t actually believe that she was gone. I started to search her Instagram and look at all of her pictures as well as her Twitter, remembering all that she encompassed. As I was on Twitter I saw someone share the video of Christina’s covering the song “Titanium.” As I was watching the video, The words to the song made it an even harsher reality that she was gone:

“I’m bulletproof, nothing to lose. Fire away, fire away. Ricochet, you take your aim. Fire away, fire away. You shoot me down but I won’t fall. I am titanium”

The death of Christina has impacted a lot of people. Everyone says that concerts are supposed to be a safe place, not a place to wonder if the person behind you is going to hurt you. I hate that there are people, monsters, in this world who do such horrible things to others.
I will never be able to tell her how much of an inspiration she was to me. I will never forget how amazing she was. Christina Grimmie was kind and genuine; she was goofy, smart, and extremely talented. She will be missed by all who knew her and those who got to know her through her talent.

On the heels of writing this tragedy, we were hit hard but another, also in the Orlando area. Our thoughts and prayers go out to the LGBT community, the families and residents of Orlando and all of our readers across the US.

http://christinagrimmie.com/

Reply

