Septimius The Great: “Find the fashion within.”

If anyone reads my articles on Shutter 16, they’ll know that I don’t really sing praises for every single artist, event, or album that I review. It’s not a matter of being mean, but I genuinely feel that as a music journalist, I have a job to not only provide readers with our favorite music, but provide musicians some constructive criticism concerning their work. This wasn’t always true.

A year ago when I first started writing with Shutter 16, I wrote about the Top Five ReverbNation “Artists.” The entire article featured musicians and performers who I speculated that the term ‘artist’ didn’t fit. On that list were artists who were weak, confusing, hard-to-listen-to, and Septimius The Great. I have to admit, his professional attitude and drive, not to mention how easily his songs get stuck in your head, have redeemed him. Initially I chose him because his music made me laugh, and presumably wasn’t supposed to. Now, as I set out for an interview, and a year since he was featured in that list, he’s still on my mind.

One question I still meditate on concerning him, is it supposed to be funny, or is he primarily interested in providing entertainment? He’s an entertainer, that’s for sure, and I really can’t hate him or his work.

Here’s a video interview that he and I have put together for you, our readers:

Now that we’ve gotten to know him a bit more personally, I want to give our readers a chance to listen to his work. Below you can find a playlist of his biggest hits, and you can learn even more about him on his Facebook and Twitter feed.

https://embed.spotify.com/follow/1/?uri=spotify%3Aartist%3A0KMQwRKuQj0Qi7CLTM6Xer&size=basic&theme=dark

To see what MuesProductions had to say about the videos, check here.

Reply

