Alissa Musto – What We Saw from the Piano Bar

What We Saw from the Piano Bar, Alissa Musto’s 2015 release has many gentile and insightful songs on it. Often deeply poetic, her songs deal with human nature and how we interact with one another. Musto was a child prodigy and is a musical virtuoso who has won numerous music competitions over the years. Mostly piano based, with an occasional jazz feel, her sweet and melancholy voice unravels some beautiful melodies and thoughtful prose.

“I released my first EP when I was 15. It wasn’t anything fancy, just four songs that I had written and recorded. What We Saw From the Piano Bar is my first real full-length album. Each song is years in the making. It took me so long to actually record it because I had such high standards for my songs and I was worried the project wouldn’t live up to my expectations. I am always writing and working on new material, but at the moment I don’t have any plans to release a new album in 2016. I feel like an album has to tell a whole story and right now I’m definitely at a crossroads in my life (about to graduate college, career changes, etc.) so my writing is all over the place,” she explained.

Musically, the CD has a nice blend of electronic keyboards to complement its acoustic piano foundation. Somber at times, songs such as “Black Flak” have a sad, yet cheerful resonance. The track “Growing Up” is about the changes that we go through as we grow, and as we do our point of view becomes less naïve.

From my perspective she seems to have this ongoing theme which runs throughout her songs: a person who is one way on the inside, but doesn’t always show that individual to the people around her. “Brovada” and “Pictures on The Wall” seem to touch on the theme in different ways. “Brovada” handles the theme in a light and whimsical way, while “Pictures on The Wall” is a little more somber. The track “Palace,” also from What We Saw From the Piano Bar speaks about keeping up appearances. These songs seem to be about tearing down façades and letting the genuine person shine through. Musto seems to be saying, “you have to be yourself.”

Q: Do you have a big adolescent audience? It seems that how you handle your subject matter, (self-image and coming of age) could be a positive influence on adolescents. I’m sure you would like to appeal to all ages, but some of the messages in your songs I think might benefit young people especially.

A: “To be honest, I wish I had more of an adolescent audience. I know my genre and style isn’t exactly what is considered popular right now, but I feel like my music has some important messages that young people could really relate to. Because I have had such a different college experience, I know that some of my songs could be tough for young people to get, but I hope people will be interested by my story. I tend to think of my music as “Starbucks” music; it mostly appeals to the young, low-key artsy types that hang out in coffee shops.”

Well, I hope that Alissa will not wait too long to get back into the studio. In the meantime, we can enjoy What We Saw from the Piano Bar. Good Luck in 2016!

 

https://www.reverbnation.com/widget_code/html_widget/artist_1567149?widget_id=55&pwc%5Bincluded_songs%5D=1&context_type=page_object&spoid=promoter_1079&pwc%5Bsize%5D=small

www.alissamusto.com/

https://www.facebook.com/alissamusto

https://www.reverbnation.com/alissamusto

@alissonmusto

Catch a show:

Jan 7 Point Street Dueling Pianos Providence, RI
Jan 8 Point Street Dueling Pianos Providence, RI
Jan 9 Point Street Dueling Pianos Providence, RI
Jan 14 Point Street Dueling Pianos Providence, RI
Jan 15 Point Street Dueling Pianos Providence, RI
Jan 16 Point Street Dueling Pianos Providence, RI
Jan 21 Point Street Dueling Pianos Providence, RI
Jan 22 Point Street Dueling Pianos Providence, RI
Jan 23 Point Street Dueling Pianos Providence, RI
Jan 28 Point Street Dueling Pianos Providence, RI

Reply

