Editor's Pick: Tank and The Bangas manufacture a contagious strain of art

During an interview with Tank and The Bangas, I discovered that each one of the members strive to put a little (or big) piece of themselves into their music. This New Orleans-based heart and soul fusion group comes together for a chance to spread the love. Some people think that music is self-explanatory, but once you learn about the magic behind the curtain, a new level of appreciation can be reached. To experience their music, check out their website. Read on to experience their humor and love of the music they make.

Tarriona Tank Ball/Lead Vocalist & Poet
S16: Who is the biggest personality of the group?
Tank: Ummmm……not me! Well it would have to be a competition between me and the drummer, Joshua. We are the two creative leaders of the group so the personalities are automatically huge.

S16: For each of you, what does this music do for you?
Tank: This music makes me feel crazy. Too free for my own good lol I’ve even had to calm down a bit, at least on stage! The music makes me alive. Reminds me why I’m living.

S16: What would you say to prospective fans about your music?
Tank: I would say that I like to speak to many different parts of myself that relates to people. I hope that you find yourself in my music. Songs like “Wal Mart,” “Oh Heart,” are very personal but a lot of people relate to them. I love sharing my heart.

Tank went on to say: “London changed my life. I recommend everyone to go somewhere different and experience life for themselves. It’s so important to know rather than someone telling you how some place is.”

Merell Burkett/Keyboardist
S16: Who is the biggest personality of the group?
Burkett: Tank’s personality is not only the biggest, it’s also the most spontaneous. One thing I like is her confidence in being genuine. Even if it seems weird to everyone else she always stays true to herself. I admire that about her.
S16: For each of you, what does this music do for you?
Burkett: While performing, this music gives me a sense of escape. It takes me to a place of excitement that I can’t get from anywhere else. It’s hard to go just a few days without jamming with my Banga family.
S16: I bet you party together, any insane memories?
Burkett: So there was this one time on our band trip… Just know that some of those insane nights caused intentional and unintentional amnesia.
S16: What would you say to prospective fans about your music?
Burkett: While enjoying Tank and The Bangas you’re not just enjoying music, but you’re enjoying a piece of us. Love and hard work is the foundation to creating this unique sound. I suggest checking us out live because we don’t just put on a show, we give you an experience.

Albert Allenback/Saxophone and Flute

S16: What has inspired what will surely be a trademark sound?
Allenback: We do things how we want regardless of convention. That’s not to say we don’t do conventional things, because we do. But the core of what we do is surprise and drama, tension and release. Will trap and broadway go together? I don’t know. Will chicken and waffles go together?
S16: What are your future endeavors for touring?
Allenback: I want to tour Australia. But not for too long because their wildlife is crazy.
S16: I bet you party together, any insane memories?
Allenback: One time in Paris they held us hostage after the gig with cheese and steak and potatoes and wine. It was wild.
S16: What would you say to prospective fans about your music?
Allenback: Our music is great but don’t trust me; go buy the album. Then come to a show. Then email me an essay comparing and contrasting the two. 500 words, double-spaced, Chicago/Turabian.
S16: Anything else you would like to add?
Allenback: #bangbang

Norman Spence/Bass Player
S16: For each of you, what does this music do for you?
Spence: It keeps me inspired and around good friends
S16: What would you say to prospective fans about your music?
Spence: The same thing I always say. “You’ll love it!”

Joshua Johnson/Musical Director/Drummer
S16: For each of you, what does this music do for you?
Johnson: It allows me to show a side of me that normally people don’t get to see. And allows me to see other sides of my friends and fans of the music as well as my band mates and Tank as well.
S16: What would you say to prospective fans about your music?
Johnson: I hope they enjoyed the first couple turns in the roller coaster ride but it’s nowhere near over.

Learn more about these fine artists, and follow their work via Facebook and Twitter for possible inside-looks at a beautiful process.

Reply

