ReverbNation’s Editor’s Picks: Next Big Hits

Today I’m bringing you a few artists who I think have the next big hit in their back pocket. Some of these are just bound to be earworms while others are solid songs tailored for radio-play. We’ve provided a playlist, so just sit back and imagine how well these would fit between your favorite DJs on local radio. Well, I guess you don’t need to imagine those DJs, I know that I don’t want to. I mean, they barely do their jobs anymore, it’s more like pushing a bunch of buttons and shout — ON WITH THE NEXT BIG HITS!

To begin, I want to re-introduce you to your childhood. While some of you may be a bit too young to remember this, or some of you too old to find it nostalgic, the Bop-it was a great time-killer and reflex-builder. Jamez Anthony has morphed the trademark jingle into a hip-hop dance song. I heard this song on his ReverbNation page, and initially, I imagined a pretty rowdy club getting into this, dancing to “work it like you’re in a video with Beyonce.” I was surprised to find that this video, while full of legit dance, also seemed to be cast with friends and family. In addition, an older white woman was easily swayed to join in on a dance with Anthony himself. Needless to say, I’ll be bopping it all Summer, especially if it means dancing with little old ladies waiting for the bus. He’s a bit of an entrepreneur; he has a company called KONTROL which seems to involve things from energy drinks to clothing. On top of that, he’s got a pretty swank haircut. The cards seem stacked in his favor. You can find all of his current singles on iTunes.

httpv://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WfU7jc895xg

Next up we have Celeste Buckingham, who is certainly a departure from Anthony, but could easily be played alongside any pop artist today. She was born in Zurich, raised in Bratislavia and now rocks it from Nashville via B.E.G. recording. Her power-house vocals really bring out the expert phrasing used throughout her verses. Much like her peers, she’s down to Earth and brings out the #realtalk through her lyrics. Maybe she parties too much, she sure has problems like the rest of us. I look forward to learning about her issues, because every good musician seems to have them. Her album Where I Belong and singles released since that are available on Amazon. In paying splendid homage to Louis Armstrong and Russ Garcia’s “Nobody Knows The Trouble I’ve Seen” (1962), Buckingham brings together cultures and universal woes for a video you need to see:

httpv://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6NbALtY3HL0

Emma Bilyou is young, which is something I need to point out due to beyond-her-years vocals. Her lyrical content is focused on the teenage issues we’ve all faced (and still experience to some degree) of heartbreak, betrayal and the journey through society. Her ability to express the emotion built into these songs without them sounding like they were dog-eared pages in her diary is something I must commend. I know that when I tried to write songs when I was younger, I came to the conclusion that not even I would want to hear them. I enjoy Bilyou, though, she harkens back to early-ots Pink, when she was drawing us her Family Portrait. I look forward to seeing what Bilyou has throughout her sophomoric phase. On her website you’ll see some kind, encouraging words in concern to bullying in society. She currently has one album out called Emmasary, and three other singles, all available on CDBaby and iTunes.

httpv://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Obhq5E4Moo4

When it comes to contemporary pop, leaning toward adult alternative, Alexander McKay takes the cake. The cake he takes, that is, is moist, not too-rich, with a delicate balance of spice and artisan flare. His vocals provide a rustic taste for those of us fed up with the vocal stylings today: as airbrushed and manipulated as the magazine covers those stars grace. McKay’s work isn’t without great production, but you can tell where they sacrificed polish for the sake of vocal integrity. In the song “Against The Tide,” there is an undeniable air of romance akin to Thereau and those artists who find solace in nature. The video supports this theoretical traditionalism, where McKay performs on a beach, filmed at a very magic hour. I do have a question, though: the acoustic guitar featured in the crashing waves, how did that happen? See for yourself. To purchase either of his two available albums, Brings Us Together or Stones visit his iTunes store.

httpv://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1BdOhjamW2k

Rexford has to be my new favorite band. I’m relentlessly exposed to new music, and I have my tastes. Some people wouldn’t consider my taste to be ‘good’, but I prefer to FEEL good, rather than taste good. Rexford is a beautiful group of men, who create a light-hearted and harmony-driven catalogue of music perfect for my morning pick-me-up. They are not afraid to weave themselves (their true selves, beyond performers) into their videos and stagework. With a style that stretches from ballad to pop overdrive, I can see myself with these fellas for many years to come. I know what you’re thinking, “you’ve only known this band for a couple days and you’re all ready to settle down?” The keyboard, walking bass-lines and vocal fusion would be my favorite memory with this group, so far, and I fall in love with them again each day. In the following video, “Space Parfait,” the artists bring together my three favorite things: astronomy, desserts and harmony. Additionally, I suggest you watch their NPR TinyDesk performance to supplement your exposure to this next big gig. To find and buy any of their three albums, Good Lie, Back Around or Ship We Sank, visit their iTunes page.

httpv://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hAMLjDZXs5E

 

19 thoughts on “ReverbNation’s Editor’s Picks: Next Big Hits

  1. ңi! I know thiѕ iis somehat offf topic but I waѕ wondering іf yߋu knew աɦere I coսld find a captcha plugin fоr my ϲomment form?
    ӏ’m uѕing the samje blog platform ass youгs and I’m having problems finding օne?
    Thɑnks a lot!

  2. Thanks for your marvelous posting! I certainly enjoyed reading it, you could be
    a great author. I will alwways bookmark your
    blog and may come back someday. I want to encourage you to
    definitely continue your great posts, have a nice weekend!

  3. Hi there! This is my first comment here so I just wanted to give a quick shout
    out and say I genuinely enjoy reading through your articles.
    Can you suggest any other blogs/websites/forums that cover the same topics?

    Many thanks!

  4. This is the right site for anybody who wants to find out about this
    topic. You realize a whole lot its almost tough to
    argue with you (not that I actually would want to…HaHa).
    You certainly put a new spin on a subject that has been written about for decades.
    Excellent stuff, just great!

  5. Admiring the hard work you put into your blog and in depth
    information you offer. It’s nice to come across a blog every once in a while that isn’t the same outdated rehashed material.
    Excellent read! I’ve bookmarked your site and I’m including
    your RSS feeds to my Google account.

  6. You really make it seem so easy with your presentation but I find this matter to be actually something which I think I would never understand. It seems too complex and very broad for me. I’m looking forward for your next post, I will try to get the hang of it!

  7. You are so interesting! I do not think I’ve truly read through
    anything like this before. So nice to find somebody with original thoughts on this subject matter.
    Really.. thanks for starting this up. This website is
    something that is needed on the internet, someone with a bit of originality!

  8. Great work! This is the kind of information that should
    be shared around the web. Shame on Google for no longer positioning this publish higher!
    Come on over and visit my site . Thanks =)

  9. I think the admin of this web page is in fact working hard
    in support of his website, for the reason that here every material is
    quality based information.

  10. Remarkable issues here. I am very satisfied to see your post.
    Thanks so much and I am taking a look ahead to touch you.

    Will you please drop me a mail?

  11. Hi! I could have sworn I’ve visited this web site before but after looking at some of the articles I realized it’s new
    to me. Anyhow, I’m definitely delighted I discovered it and I’ll be book-marking it and checking back frequently!

  12. Thank you for the auspicious writeup. It in truth used to be a leisure account it.

    Glance advanced to far introduced agreeable from you!
    By the way, how could we keep up a correspondence?

  13. Howdy! This is my first visit to your blog! We are a group of
    volunteers and starting a new initiative in a community in the
    same niche. Your blog provided us valuable information to work on. You have done a marvellous job!

  14. Everyone loves what you guys are usually up too.

    Such clever work and exposure! Keep up the fantastic works guys I’ve added you guys to my personal
    blogroll.

Reply

