The Rolling Stones Sell Out Raleigh Stadium Show

The Stones Sell Out Raleigh Stadium Show

As a music journalist, you would expect that I’ve been to quite a few concerts/shows. Going to see live music is one my favorite things to do, ever since I went to my first concert I’ve been hooked. I’ve been to some of the smallest hole-in-the-wall bars in North Carolina watching locals rock out to just a handful of people, arenas filled with thousands of fans waiting to see rock and roll hall-of-famers, and everything in between. Well, the last show I went to was an experience like no other. The band I saw is nothing less than rock ‘n’ roll royalty, and I was in a college football stadium with 40,000 others witnessing history.

//platform.twitter.com/widgets.js

When the Rolling Stones come to town they’re going to attract thousands of fans, a sold out Carter-Finley Stadium in Raleigh is proof of that. Currently on their North American Zip Code tour, the group known by many as “the world’s greatest rock ‘n’ roll band” was joined by Concord’s The Avett Brothers. I can’t tell you much about the Avett’s set, other than people around me in the stadium said it was pretty good. I was stuck in some of the most ridiculous traffic I’ve ever seen trying to get into the parking lot while they were playing. That didn’t stop me from having a good time though.

//platform.twitter.com/widgets.js

I didn’t have to wait long when I finally got to my seat before the lights went down, leaving us under the dark night sky with few stars shining. As a cool Summer breeze came through, a voice came through the speakers: “Ladies and gentlemen, the Rolling Stones!” and Keith Richards walked out to center stage and struck the strings on his trusty Fender Telecaster kickstarting “Jumpin’ Jack Flash.” After fifty-plus years of writing music, the group had plenty of tunes to choose from, but there were a few you just knew had to be included in the set. “It’s Only Rock ‘n’ Roll (But I Like It),” “Start Me Up,” “Miss You,” “Sympathy for the Devil,” and “Brown Sugar” were what I think everyone expected to hear, and we did by night’s end.

The band is celebrating the reissue of one of their best-selling albums, 1971’s Sticky Fingers. This whole tour they have been playing tracks from the album, some well-known hits and some they had to blow the dust off of: “Bitch,” and “Moonlight Mile” were both included in this set. One of my favorite songs by the band, “Tumbling Dice,” came early in the set and, judging by the sea of people dancing, I wasn’t the only one happy to hear it. “Gimme Shelter” was saved for a spot towards the end of the show and when background vocalist Lisa Fischer belted out the section originally sung by Aretha Franklin, I got goosebumps.

You always hear about how the guys are too old to still be touring and how they don’t put on shows like they use to anymore. Well, I never saw them back when they were in their prime, but I can tell you that the show was worth the pricey ticket. The band did have some flaws, mainly with the mix of the sound and a few mistakes from guitarists Ronnie Wood and Richards, it didn’t seem to bother anyone though. Jagger lived up to the hype of his namesake moves by running around the stage like a man half his age, especially during “Out of Control.” The group rounded out the night with their two biggest tunes, “You Can’t Always Get What You Want,” and “(I Can’t Get No) Satisfaction,” accompanied by a firework display just in time for the Fourth of July.

//platform.twitter.com/widgets.js
It was possibly the last time the Rolling Stones will ever play in North Carolina, and I’m extremely thankful I got to see it. Along with the rest of the sold out crowd of 40,000 fans, I witnessed an incredible show the spanned the group’s historic fifty-plus year career proving why they have earned the title of “the world’s greatest rock ‘n’ roll band.” The set wasn’t without it’s miscues, and they didn’t play my favorite song of theirs (“Paint it Black”), but really, how can I be mad about any of that? I got to see the Rolling-freaking-Stones!

 httpv://youtu.be/InRDF_0lfHk

 

The Rolling Stones Setlist:

Jumpin’ Jack Flash
It’s Only Rock ‘n’ Roll (But I Like It)
Let’s Spend the Night Together
Tumbling Dice
Out of Control
Bitch
Moonlight Mile
Shine a Light
Honky Tonk Women
Before They Make Me Run
Happy
Midnight Rambler
Miss You
Gimme Shelter
Start Me Up
Sympathy for the Devil
Brown Sugar

Encore
You Can’t Always Get What You Want
(I Can’t Get No) Satisfaction

 

Remaining Tour Dates:

4 JULY  INDIANAPOLIS, IN  INDIANAPOLIS MOTOR SPEEDWAY  TICKETS VIP TICKETS

8 JULY  DETROIT, MI  COMERICA PARK  TICKETS VIP  TICKETS 

SUPPORT: WALK THE MOON

11 JULY BUFFALO, NY  RALPH WILSON STADIUM TICKETS VIP TICKETS

15 JULY

QUEBEC, QC  LE FESTIVAL D’ÉTÉ DE QUÉBEC TICKETS

Reply

