Interview: All Rise Talks About Street Punk, Peigler and Plans to Move

All Rise Talks About Street Punk, Peigler and Plans to Move

By: Johnny Moss

via The All Rise Facebook

All Rise  is from the New Orleans area, but in recent years the band has been performing and living in the Queen City. They played some of the more aggressive hardcore punk shows in the city and often didn’t shy away from confrontation. The band has no shortage of critics and followers. As 2014 drew to an end, Tyler Deadend (the front man) announced the band was moving to the West coast after a, somewhat public, break-up of the NC members.

AllRise_3
Photo by: Jimmy K Images

I met Tyler when I was asked if Dirty Southern Revolutionaries (DSR) could support The Toasters with All Rise at The World Famous Milestone. I talked with Tyler, and this relationship led to my band touring the U.S. with All Rise. As All Rise prepares for the move out West, I got a chance to catch up with Tyler. Despite what some folks think of Tyler, he has always treated me with respect and kindness; he has been there for me, spending holidays with my family and at one point even coming to help me when my car broke down in the rain. I have a lot of respect for every member of All Rise (NC) and we made memories that will last a lifetime. I wish them all the best with their future endeavors, whatever they may be. Up the Punks!

Moss: How many years has All Rise been a band and how did it start?

Tyler: All Rise formed in 2006. I fronted a four-piece band called The Dead End Kids between the years of 2001 and 2003 and we disbanded after a show in New Orleans with The Casualties and Roger Miret due to riot police showing up and everyone getting arrested, including our photographer, the booker and our lead guitarist’s girlfriend. My band members said it was too much for them and we ended. I moved to Florida for music production school in 2004 and briefly sang for a band called The Cause, which was short-lived and after graduation I moved home to New Orleans at the end of 2005. Early 2006 I started running into old fans of The Dead End Kids and decided I’d start up a new New Orleans-based band with a few of the guys that knew my old group. I was big into trying to name the group after courtroom jargon. I got into the saying at the beginning of court “all rise,” because it signified the beginning of the end. Every final judgment came with the saying “all rise” starting it off. I got into the double meaning as well in the sense that All Rise represented a call of action to the world; everyone rise, in a sense.”

All Rise 001
Photo by: Lane Lovegrove

Moss: The band originated in the greater New Orleans area and has since moved to Charlotte. According to a recent post, you’re possibly moving to Sacramento soon, what is up with all the moving?

Tyler: Hahaha, well work is moving me out to Sacramento. However, I believe it [moving] helps in building a following for the band. Some bands choose to play certain areas over and over again to generate a following in that area, I choose to live in them and develop close bonds with people in that area. I wish to not just be a one state band, rather than all the states. I always make it a point to play the states I have lived in such as Louisiana, Illinois, Florida; and North Carolina is now on that list. I do find it funny that All Rise will now be a cliché California punk band but, oh well, fuck it. As long as we stay true to our message and keep on the road, not just another poof coot local band.

Moss: Street punk has been through a lot of hills and valleys since its inception, how do you feel about the state of street punk today?

Tyler: It comes and goes and always has. Recently I see it coming back with the street punk bands touring again these days. I always thought street punk only died in New Orleans in 2005 due to hurricane Katrina but I soon found out it was that way around most of the country. That’s ok though and I’m fine with it. I actually prefer when punk as a whole isn’t popular at all because just like the lyrics to our song titled ‘All Rise’: “in all hard times you will find out who’s real.” By that I mean when it’s not the hip music that these self-proclaimed art fucks and trendies think is in, you see who is really in it. But like guys in some of my personal favorite bands have told me at shows we have played together “street punk comes and goes every 5-10 years.” That’s what I have seen anyway. But it doesn’t matter, it’s the only style of music that seems to have stayed true to its roots in the sense that I can listen to street punk from 1982 and it sounds along the same as the shit in 2014. I like the consistency of street punk. When you got a good thing don’t change it. So yeah street punk dies and is soon revived. Always will be that way.

Moss: Speaking of “in all hard times you will find out whose real,” care to share your thoughts about your song ‘To My Dying Friends’? What was your motivation behind the lyrics?

Tyler: A lot of people have asked if that song was about actual friends dying. It is not about death but rather transformation. It goes along with what I kind have already discussed, as anyone in the underground scene in general has seen the rise and fall of friends. I remember growing up with some of the most extreme punks and skins and hearing them preach on and on about how they were in it for life. They would tell me plans for the future and anarchist hopes and dreams and then, bam, they disappeared and became the complete opposite of what they once swore. It’s best seen in the line “time’s getting rough that I understand we all have to suck it up, you sang with pride outta your heart and now you’ve all shut up.” The second verse talks about how now when I see these people that were once just like me hold their nose up at me and ultimately we ceased communication for many years and I kind of just laugh because I see them now and they once again swear who they are and I just laugh cause I know that can change at any time. I never liked people that didn’t know themselves. Be proud of yourself. A job or school etc. doesn’t have to change a person at all, it really doesn’t. I’ve watched skins become Christian preachers and anarchists become huge Marine Corps soldiers. And that’s fine but I never understood how people can give up so easily on what they say is in their heart other than it being complete bullshit on what’s in their heart. And it’s sad that they come and go and abuse this scene but it’s something that has become expected. So now I seem to question everyone and everything.

All Rise 003
Photo by: Lane Lovegrove

Moss: Obviously the DIY ethic runs deep in punk rock, what band do you feel symbolizes DIY the best?

Tyler: I hate to say it but I’d have to say Turd/Cutter as for local bands. But it’s easier when a band has someone that works in a shop that screen prints and makes signs etc. It’s sometimes rough because I had to purchase my own screen press and all supplies button makers and supplies now recording equipment and cd presses and ultimately the vinyl lathe. But in all honesty 95% of the local punk and metal bands have no merch. But then Turd/Cutter comes along and is like “we got signs, shirts, music, hookers, and custom inflatable crack pipes, and Jurwayne,” instant DIY wonders boy band.

Moss Are you listening to any newer bands, and if so who are they?

Tyler: I’ve gotten really big into Who Killed Spikey Jacket? out of Boston. Other than that I’m still very big into the Krum Bums but I’ve known them since 2003. Locally I really dig Biggy Stardust and listen to his vinyl a great deal and also The Chalkies. It would be awesome to see those guys hit the road but I know it’s tough for them.

Moss: Speaking of “hitting the road,” how many tours has All Rise been on now?

Tyler: Only three nationals, two of which were when we were still New Orleans based and one after moving to North Carolina with Dirty South Revolutionaries. All other out-of-state shows were weekend trips due to band member’s work schedules and such so I requested we go out of state the final weekend each month. Haha, that ultimately aided in the ending of the All Rise North Carolina chapter, it’s tough for some people, not many people can fully grasp the planning that has to go into a tour. But I believe in All Rise as a band so I will always find a way to keep it going and on the road.

Moss: The ending of All Rise NC was pretty public; do you have any thoughts on that you would like to share looking back?

Tyler: It got a lot of attention because people wanted to pick sides. People didn’t like me for getting rid of band members and people I knew didn’t like my band members for slacking off and canceling shows. I always tell band members I prefer to keep the name All Rise going instead of a certain member. If All Rise loses a band member we will keep going always have because it’s a band, not just an individual. People wanted to stop coming to shows after I had asked the drummer to leave and that’s fine because I don’t want em at the shows anyway if they are only there for the drummer. It’s not fair to the band. If they stop coming it doesn’t matter, we have weeded out the flakes that weren’t there for punk rock, they weren’t there for shit other than they obviously had nothing else to do. They weren’t even getting merch so I don’t know what they think I lost instead of gained. It’s upsetting though those friendships became acquaintances now because of that but I’ve got a one track mind on getting All Rise out there, not just the drummer or the bassist or anyone. No one said it was easy but everyone expects a cake walk and they don’t know what to do when they’re out on the road eating potato chips on bread and sleeping under cars. And some people don’t know how to conserve and plan for tours and some use tours to get laid. I use tours for the band and getting music out there. It is upsetting but ultimately down the road they were all building blocks to what All Rise will become and hopefully they can feel comfort in that and we can all reunite.

AllRise_8
Photo by: Jimmy K Images

Moss: And what, in the long run, do you want All Rise to become?

Tyler: Comfortable and an example of punk rock surviving through hard work and never giving in regardless of the hard times, the put downs, and the failures.

Moss: Let’s get into the “put-downs” part of that, do you think there has been a lot of that so far among people who are involved in the local/national music scene?

Tyler: Yeah and in all honesty I’m not completely innocent in that matter. We all joke around but when you deal with bookers and bands who bash your music and your friend’s music and other bands fighting and hating on each other due to different styles, its very sick. Because it just brews more hate. For instance a booker tells me All Rise sucks then I get everyone to notice the monopoly that is run by that booker. Like I said I’m not innocent at all but I never understand the first punches people send. Not everyone is going to like you and not everyone is going to hate you it’s just how the world operates and no one is exempt. I’m just top implosive and I will hear it and hear it and then I explode. Then I hear it behind people’s backs. It’s like certain cliques in the scene are like hanging around in a Maury Povich episode. Just nonstop shit talk instead of happily giving people what they want to hear.

Moss; Charlotte lost two icons very close together, Joe Young and Chris Peigler, you knew Peigler personally, care to say anything about that?

Tyler: I miss Chris Peigler, Chris had a heart bigger than music in general and he made each person feel as if they were his favorite. I liked Chris because he knew the history of music and Charlotte. I would see him at literally every show and I would always find his face amongst the crowd. He was always there smiling as All Rise played as if he was proud to see us going forward with street punk. He would give me his albums and I would listen to them completely amazed. I remember him trying so hard to make it to our video shoot but we were done by the time he was even able to start heading our way. Part of me feels a great deal of the Queen City punk rock enthusiasm died with him. He seemed to be like the medicine to keep everyone trying for faster and louder and angrier music. Once he died it seems like the cookie cutter came out in the local punk scene and everyone was mirroring another band. I have my picture of Chris hanging in my hallway and I look at it all the time and honestly wonder if any of this stuff with All Rise or the music scene would be going through what it is if he was still here. A good guy and more fuel to keep All Rise going, I was told from his band members that he was a huge fan and I think that if I were ever to end All Rise that would be ending that one last connection I have with Chris now that he is gone. A very good guy that I will remember the rest of my life wherever I am.

Moss: Well that’s about it man, anything to add?

Tyler: The Queen City will always be a part of me and I will be back through. I have met a lot of good people in this area as well as a million nimrods but I stand by three things: honesty, loyalty, and hard work. Once any of those are broken I start having problems. Thanks Moss for everything, you have remained one of my closest friends through all this shit. I hope you can make it out West or that we can soon share a stage again shortly. You’re the best.

 

Reply

